Hymnbook in Bb ???

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by turtlejimmy, Aug 13, 2010.

1. turtlejimmy

turtlejimmy Utimate User

Jun 6, 2010
    Oregon
    Does anyone know where to get a big hymnbook (600+ songs) in the key of Bb???

A Hopeful Turtle

2. Sturmbill

Sturmbill Pianissimo User

Feb 11, 2004
    Virginia
  3. oldlou

oldlou Forte User

Aug 28, 2005
    Grand Rapids, Mi.
    Do you find transposition to concert pitch so that you are in tune with the piano or organ to be so difficult? I have been doing it since I was eight years old and I am now seventy four. All that you have to do is play the written hymn up one tone while deleting two flats or adding two sharps. I do the vast majority of my at home practice from one of several hymnals that I have, transposing each of them.

OLDLOU>>

4. turtlejimmy

turtlejimmy Utimate User

Jun 6, 2010
    Oregon
    Hey OldLou, I've been playing the trumpet for 5 months and the only thing I find easy about it is typing on my computer in this forumn. In the last months I've given up wondering why, after a lifetime of playing instruments in C (guitar, drums, flute, voice, etc.) I now have to be in Bb. My musician friends (all of them in C) are highly sympathetic and sometimes ask me why I don't play a C trumpet. Well, the jazz guys played Bb trumpets ..... I wanna play jazz.:dontknow:

And Bill, thanks for those links .... Looks promising.

Turtle

5. s.coomer

s.coomer Forte User

Mar 25, 2005
    Indianapolis, In
    Okay, playing is hard for you. Why not take what you are working on and raising them one step from time to time?

6. RandyTx

RandyTx Pianissimo User

Mar 26, 2010
    Central Texas
    Get some manuscript paper and pick a tune and transpose it on paper, that should help you get used to it, and make it easier to do it in your head as you play.

7. brassplayer

brassplayer Pianissimo User

May 6, 2009
    San Gabriel, CA