I Am In Need Of a Separate MArching Horn

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by ToasterEater, Aug 5, 2009.

1. ToasterEater

ToasterEater New Friend

Aug 5, 2009
    Hi, im now a freshman, and I have played on a 1978 Benge for 3 Years. :lol: Im starting marching band, and I need another Trumpet. This is a very nice model but im in need of a marching horn because:

*I dont want to leave a Nice horn such as mine unlocked in school slots.
    *I dont want to be out on the field during practice with a horn as nice as this one.

I want to spend no more than $ 400.(But this is not a STRICT number) :-?

Does anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks Much!

Last edited: Aug 5, 2009
  2. s.coomer

s.coomer Forte User

Mar 25, 2005
    Indianapolis, In
    For a marching band, I would be looking for a good beginner horn. Why beat up something good on a field?

3. ToasterEater

ToasterEater New Friend

Aug 5, 2009
    Thats exactly what im thinking. Thats why im not using my Benge. What are some "Better" :lol: chinese trumpets?

4. Pedal C

Pedal C Mezzo Forte User

Jan 24, 2005
    You can get a used Yamaha student horn on Ebay for under $400. That would be a great marching band horn.

5. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    Playing outdoors is harder than indoors. I would NOT use a student horn if you normally play a Benge. I think a light horn is better for outdoors because you hear yourself better and THAT will save your chops. A used Getzen Eterna Severinsen model or Yamaha 6xxx series horn is excellent for stuff like this. I am not the vintage horn expert, but I am sure that there are some King, Conn, Olds and Holtons that fit in this category too! Do NOT take a step down in quality from your present horn. Get a light, used pro horn!

6. dhbailey

dhbailey Piano User

Jul 28, 2009
    New Hampshire