I could use some help!

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Googon, Feb 18, 2008.

1. Googon

Googon New Friend

Feb 18, 2008
    Well, I don't really play the trumpet, I play the coronet. It is the same as the tumpet except it is shorter. The one I play is a silver Eterna by Getzen. I have been playing it for maybe 2-3 years total. Playing it came natural to me, all music does. Not to sound conceited. Anyway's back to what I need help with. My school band is going to attended Massed Bands again this year, and the some my teacher picked for us to play has a ton of high notes.

The first few weeks I could hit all the high notes just fine! High A and B's and a few Cs. I am talking about the ones above the cleft =p. But fior some reason, like the past week and a half, I have not been able to hit them, my horn just blows air and makes a scraggly tone like I was just starting to play.

I don't know if this is important, but this all started happening the second after I cleaned my trumpet. I don't know what to do! We are performing in about a month! I have been practicing for like an hour every day at school, and an additional hour at home, but I still have trouble hitting the high notes that I used to be able toh it so easily.

WHAT'S WRONG WITH ME/MY HORN!

2. Vulgano Brother

Vulgano Brother Moderator Staff Member

Mar 23, 2006
    Parts Unknown
    Welcome to TM, Googon! Either your horn was so dirty cleaning it opened the bore by a considerable amount or: you put the valves in the wrong order (check the numbers on top) or not properly seated (turn the valve until it locks) or: if from the early 70's or before, the cork on the water key no longer seals. Sometimes the Amado keys (the push-button water keys on later models) will freeze open. Did you rinse it well? Sometimes gunk can move around and get packed together somewhere in the horn when cleaning.

3. Patric_Bernard

Patric_Bernard Forte User

Oct 25, 2007
    California