I need help please! :)

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by fellowtrumpeter, Nov 13, 2017 at 9:14 PM.

1. fellowtrumpeter

fellowtrumpeter New Friend

Aug 6, 2017
    17163 North 200 West
    So i’ve been playing trumpet for 4 years, (I’m a freshman) i’ve done many things, solos, duets, i’ve gotten 1st finally this year, which is an honor as it is in my opinion. I can usually hit a high D above the staff on a daily. I also recently finished honor band. I got 2nd so I had to play low notes. Before the concert I was worried that i’ve not been playing enough high notes daily like i’ve been doing for a long time, so I went outside to practice and I was still golden, hitting my high D. Now it’s literally the next day and when i went to practice today, 1. My lips were awful, 2. my tone quality wasn’t good. 3. I could barely hit a high A above the staff.

I’ve worked so hard to be where I was literally just yesterday. Now I feel for no reason iits gone. I guess my question is, did i magically just start to suck or like what’s wrong? My friend said that it could just be “my lips are taking a break” and that “we all have our bad practice days”. Please help!? (Sorry i’m all over the place :)

2. TrumpetMD

TrumpetMD Fortissimo User

Oct 22, 2008
    Maryland
    Welcome to TM, fellowtrumpeter.

You went out and played a bunch of high notes, and then played in a concert. I wonder if you just played too much yesterday. Today, you need time to rest.

Mike

3. OldSchoolEuph

OldSchoolEuph Mezzo Forte User

Apr 1, 2011
    Michigan
    A couple of things you should bear in mind:

First, all of the notes count. You need to be able to play the low ones well in addition to the high ones. To make an analogy to fitness, you can be obsessed with body-building and over-bulk certain groups until you cant move, but have more muscle than the next guy. Or, you can train both strength and aerobic and develop into a solid athlete. A solid musician is like a solid athlete.