I need help.

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by MinorMuse, May 12, 2014.

1. MinorMuse

MinorMuse New Friend

Mar 6, 2014
    North Carolina
    I don't seem to be getting any better playing-wise, only worse.

I'm a sophomore going on junior year soon. I started playing in 7th grade. Next year, I will be trumpet section leader in my high school's marching band, and hopefully high brass captain. The thing is, I'm not that good. I've exceeded my current section leader but I can't progress. I have my Arbans and Clarke books that I play daily. I warm up and warm down after each concert band rehearsal and personal practice. I play over the weekends. I study music theory. I learn from what professional wind players shine on me. I love trumpet. I do everything I can but I can't: play effectively above high A, can't single tongue faster than eighth notes at 150bpm, and I can't double tongue more than 2 notes at once (and only on one pitch). I have a ton of those "I can'ts" because I physically can't get to that point. Is there something I can do to fix this rut?

2. Sethoflagos

Sethoflagos Utimate User

Aug 7, 2013
    Lagos, Nigeria
    We all went through various plateaux when we first learnt. Or at least, I did. What does your tutor say about these problems?

3. Vulgano Brother

Vulgano Brother Moderator Staff Member

Mar 23, 2006
    Parts Unknown
    One thing you haven't addressed is how softly you can play. Spend a week or so practicing ppp and see if that doesn't help your range.

As for tonguing, be sure to relax your tongue. That should help speed it up, and the rest of multiple tonguing is just coordination.

4. MinorMuse

MinorMuse New Friend

Mar 6, 2014
    North Carolina
    My softness can get at most pp when my chops are fresh.

My band director tells me I just need to push through the roadblock and practice, try to get a private teacher (which I'm struggling to do financially.)

5. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany