If you had to start all over again, what advice would you give yourself?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Beachmystic, Dec 29, 2009.

1. Beachmystic

Beachmystic New Friend

Dec 28, 2009
    Tampa Bay
    I would like to introduce myself to your forums, call me Beach. I have been playing trumpet now for two days. A friend gave me a used CONN student trumpet for Christmas as I expressed interest in playing the trumpet. I have played guitar for over 30 years, although just for fun, I am self taught and never took formal lessons. I often regretted not learning to read music well, or develop a firm grasp of music theory.
    I wish to make a fresh start with the trumpet. Although I am 42 years old, I would like to learn the instrument properly, and am willing to work hard and take lessons, etc. I would like to ask the community here at TM if they were starting over as I am, what if any advice would you give yourself? Any pitfalls I could avoid would be most helpful.
    I would like to thank you in advance for your time an consideration.

Beach

Last edited: Dec 29, 2009
  2. Dave Mickley

Dave Mickley Forte User

Nov 11, 2005
    Indianapolis
    I would get a good teacher and do what he/she says. don't worry about playing high notes, that will come later after you learn proper breath control and other basics.

3. tedh1951

tedh1951 Utimate User

Oct 18, 2007
    The Wide Brown Land
    As you already a have a body of musical knowledge much of your learning will be comparative - that's good - that's the way adults tend to learn.

Many here at TM, including me, will INSIST that you get a good teacher. But do yourself and the teacher a favour, NEVER turn up without preparation - either what has been suggested the previous lesson or something you specifically want to address - perhaps an awkward phrase.