I'm a bit worried, need some advise

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by oriolescolano, Nov 13, 2013.

1. oriolescolano

oriolescolano New Friend

Aug 3, 2013
    Hello,

I'm a senior high school student. In about three weeks, on the same day, I have two important concerts, one with a Big Band, where I play lead trumpet, and another one with a Symphonic Orchestra where I play first trumpet. I have some important solos (not difficut) but I really want to be in shape when the concert comes. The issue is that the four days before the concert I'm on a school trip and I can't bring my trumpet with me (I'm not going to have much free time either). So I'm a bit concerned about my endurance on the concert day.

Do you have any tips or advises or experiences to share with me? I would really appreciate it.

Thank you very much.

2. mgcoleman

mgcoleman Mezzo Forte User

Jun 22, 2010
    Iowa
    At a minimum, take your music, a mouthpiece and a rag/washcloth/etc. Buzz into the rag for a bit of back pressure and sound dampening.

3. gzent

gzent Fortissimo User

Nov 5, 2003
    Rochester, MN
    Ask you band director to speak with the person in charge of the trip and see if they can get you permission to bring your horn.

4. motoboy

motoboy New Friend

Sep 7, 2005
    SC
    I say don't worry about it. Enjoy your trip and think of it as a welcome break. If you are in good playing shape the four days off won't hurt you.

5. oriolescolano

oriolescolano New Friend

Aug 3, 2013
    Are you sure about that? I'm in good shape right now but four days off... it seems a lot.

6. gzent

gzent Fortissimo User

Nov 5, 2003
    Rochester, MN
    I don't know of ANY lead player that can take off 4 days and not be significantly impacted.

7. mgcoleman

mgcoleman Mezzo Forte User

Jun 22, 2010
    Iowa