I'm going to play in a band soon!

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by snazzypadgett, May 3, 2010.

1. snazzypadgett

snazzypadgett New Friend

Oct 13, 2009
    I've been playing for about 4 months now, and my teacher (i'm taking trumpet as secondary instrument at university) has urged me to join a community band over the summer! I'm excited!

My range is basically the low (concert) E to F, which I think is good enough for some second trumpet parts. What do you guys think it'll be like playing in a group for the first time?

2. mchs3d

mchs3d Mezzo Forte User

Sep 30, 2005
    Provo, UT
    Well, it should be a new experience. I think you'll have lots of fun. However, do listen to all of your classmates and do your best to fit in. Playing in an ensemble is about as good as group activities get.

3. snazzypadgett

snazzypadgett New Friend

Oct 13, 2009
    Well, I would have made a topic about this, but that'd be two in one day, so here's another question I'm having:

-When I play, I'm noticing that my throat feels a little strained, i think. The feeling is similar to when you get water up your nose and you push air into your soft palate to make a snorty sound. Is this pressure normal or not? It can sometimes make a little noise that is undesirable.

Also, I make vocalizations while I play. My voice goes "uhh' in short, quiet bursts in certain playing ranges. My teacher pointed it out and said to try and get rid of it, just make a conscious effort. But I don't know if I can, I can't seem to play without it. Anyone ever had this problem?

4. trickg

trickg Utimate User

Oct 26, 2003
    Baltimore/DC