I'm sick

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by nickenator, Feb 9, 2014.

1. nickenator

nickenator Pianissimo User

Oct 19, 2008
    I have come down with a nasty cold/sinus thing. I have a concert in 7 hours. What do I do?

2. Cornyandy

Cornyandy Fortissimo User

Jan 9, 2010
    East Yorkshire
    Steam perhaps will help clear the tubes. I used to staem with a little menthol if I had a cold while I was singing

3. bumblebee

bumblebee Fortissimo User

Jan 21, 2010
    Great Southern Land
    When this happens to me it really knocks me about since I end up not being able to breathe through my nose as I play. I'm afraid I've usually resorted to the pharmaceutical path and dosed up on something to dry me out - one of those "extra strength/fast acting" cold/flu remedies from the chemist shop. IANAD (I am not a doctor) so this next bit should only be considered my personal anecdote: The other thing I've done is probably ill-advised and that is to chug down an anti-allergy pill, like Telfast, which I think helped with the drying out in the short term but also resulted in days of feeling too dry afterwards.

I hope you get well soon.

--bumblebee

4. rankamateur

rankamateur Mezzo Forte User

May 1, 2013
    Merry Ol' England
    Probably too late now, but get a hair-dryer and a hot drink - as hot as you can take it. Put the hair-dryer on the hottest setting you can manage and breathe in the heat through your nose for three minutes. At the same time, take sips of your hot drink, so you're getting heat up your nose and going down your throat at the same time. 3 minutes. Yes, it hurts, I know. Repeat this every hour or two and it might kill your cold dead.

Just be careful handling the drink and the dryer. Get mummy or daddy to help if necessary.

That is the essence of Dan Lee Dimke's Cold Arrest procedure.

5. bumblebee

bumblebee Fortissimo User

Jan 21, 2010
    Great Southern Land