Improving tone quality

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by canninball3, Mar 26, 2011.

1. canninball3

canninball3 New Friend

Apr 4, 2010
    Im a freshman in high school, and ive been playing the trumpet since i was in 4th grade, and ive always have had horrible tone quality and i was wondering what could i do in order to improve it. Everyone in my section keeps telling me to do something about it, my teacher tells me to do long tones which i do everyday for at least 15 minutes. Ive been doing it since like December but i havent heard any improvement. I play on a french besson international series trumpet, and i just got a bach 2 1/2c mouthpiece. Ive been on a 5c before i switched. So can anyone help me

2. AKtrumpet

AKtrumpet Piano User

Jun 4, 2010
    Alaska
    Long tones, lip slurs, lots of listening, and ALWAYS try to make music.

Find someone you think has great tone and just listen, listen, listen.

This can be live or recorded in my opinion.

You should probably do a search on the forums here though as I assume that
    the subject of this thread has been posted before.

3. s.coomer

s.coomer Forte User

Mar 25, 2005
    Indianapolis, In
    Everything AKtrumpet said is correct, I would add to do the long tones and lip slurs softly. You might also want to play some easy chorales or hymns very softly. You might also want to talk with your teacher about the proper use of air.

4. tobylou8

tobylou8 Utimate User

Dec 22, 2008
    Virginia
    You could have too much lip in the bowl. I see a lot of beginners who have no embouchure development just blow into the mpc and the resulting sound is splatty, blatty, and obnoxious. If you don't work on changing the tone with your lips by practicing, it will always sound S,B,&O. It will take more than 15 minutes of long tones. What the other posters have said is a very good place to start.:thumbsup:

5. Richard Oliver

Richard Oliver Forte User

Jul 18, 2006
    Casper, WY