In Wal-Mart we trust

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by eisprl, Sep 10, 2007.

1. eisprl

eisprl Mezzo Piano User

Sep 26, 2004
    Halifax, NS CANADA
    Hey everyone.

Has anyone noticed that Wal-Mart is now selling instruments? Trumpets, saxophones, clarinets, flutes, guitars, basses, and drum sets.

I can plainly see the quality (or lack there of) of the drum sets but what of the other instruments? Does anyone actually have any experience on these horns (your students for example or even you yourselves)? For an absolute beginner would you trust these $200 trumpets to do the job? Or someone like, say, me who might be interested in taking up the bass (for 500 bones which includes an amp). My assumption is that you are probably just paying $200 for a funky blue trumpet case (which so happens comes with a trumpet).

Eric

2. lmf

lmf Forte User

May 16, 2007
    Indiana USA
    Hi, Eric,

What local music dealer is going to make repairs on Walmart instruments? Will Walmart repair them locally? Suspect you will have to ship them back to someplace designated by Walmart. The repair will be for a poor instrument or the poor instrument will be replaced with the same poor quality instrument and so forth. What will you use to replace the instrument while it takes weeks or months of repair time?

You can purchase new or used musical instruments from a local dealer who will usually service products he sells on the spot or in a reasonable time. If you have a gig, he may have a loaner or something you can rent cheaply for the time your gear is out of service in the repair shop.

In my opinion, the money you save at Walmart will end up being spent at your first and ongoing repairs. You may pay a little more at your local (or reputable mail order music store), but you'll br money ahead in service and repairs.

Best wishes,

Lloyd

3. ejaime23

ejaime23 Pianissimo User

Jul 27, 2007
    Houston,TX
    Careful, you might get sued!

4. ecarroll