Inconsistent Range

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Frazzle, Mar 22, 2012.

1. Frazzle

Frazzle New Friend

Jan 27, 2012
    England, UK
    Hi all, I'm new to TrumpetMaster so I hope I'm posting in the right section. :oops: I have a query about inconsistent playing ability...

I've been playing the trumpet for just over 10 years now and am looking to pursue music college sometime in the near future. However, I've recently noticed that my playing is somewhat inconsistent during practise - most notably my range and flexibility. Come to think of it, my playing has always been rather unreliable; some days effortlessly being able to play high C and above, yet on others, barely managing to play anything above the stave without noticeable tension in the neck. I understand we all have good days and bad days but I'm just plain unreliable! :-?

I don't feel like I'm doing anything different when I have these "off days" so I don't know what's going wrong. I was just wondering if anyone else has experienced this problem for some suggestions as to what might be the cause of this inconsistency. (Could my mouthpiece be too big perhaps?)

(I practise regularly for around 2 hours a day taking breaks every 20 minutes or so and often having one day off a week to rest/recover).

Thanks in advance, any feedback would be greatly appreciated. :-)

Last edited: Mar 22, 2012
  2. Bob Grier

Bob Grier Forte User

May 4, 2007
    Greensboro, NC
    Do you have a teacher you see a least once a week. That would be a big help. They would help you develop good playing habits that go a long way toward being consistent. It's not the mouthpiece, your technique isn't solid enough for you to be consistent. Consistency is a result of solid technique.

It's good to see that you care enough to want to improve. Don't try and do it by yourself.

3. Frazzle

Frazzle New Friend

Jan 27, 2012
    England, UK
    Hey, thanks for the response.