Increasing range (beginner)

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by snazzypadgett, Apr 2, 2010.

1. snazzypadgett

snazzypadgett New Friend

Oct 13, 2009
    Hello, I've been playing my trumpet for about 3 months, and I'm making good progress, I can play the low E all the way up to the Eb almost two octaves above, but I have questions about playing that high.

I understand not to rush my range, and I'm not, I play long tones and am achieving a better and more resonant tone each week. However, I am pretty stuck on the Eb. It is difficult for me to hit, and I typically need to play a slurred scale up to it to get it to resonate.

I also get tired very quickly, in a minute or two, of playing those Ebs. My embouchure weakens and air slips out of the sides.

Is it really just a matter of continued practice? I've been stuck at the same level on this Eb for two weeks now...

2. ComeBackKid

ComeBackKid Fortissimo User

May 11, 2009
    Yorba Linda, CA
    I have been stuck on a note for a lot longer than that. So, don't become too impatient. Range improvements take a lot of practice over a long period of time. You will improve so don't worry.

3. dhbailey

dhbailey Piano User

Jul 28, 2009
    New Hampshire
    If you've gotten from a low E (I take it you mean the note on the bottom line of the treble staff) all the way up to the high Eb (the one above the high C) in only 3 months, then you've advanced way too fast in my opinion and it's no wonder you get tired after a couple of minutes.

We are dealing with muscles here, and muscles need time to develop properly. And not only to develop properly but to learn how to interact properly with each other to produce a good trumpet sound. So you are pushing your muscles way beyond their capacity, and you are likely to do some serious long-term harm to your embouchure if you don't back off and do some serious "body building" exercises in the middle and lower registers before trying to get up into the stratosphere.