Incresed endurance/strength

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by lckeese, Dec 30, 2006.

1. lckeese

lckeese New Friend

Dec 28, 2006
    Hi Manny,

Let me begin of course by saying how great a fan I am of your playing. It is an honor to be able to ask you anything about trumpet playing and, especially, musicianship. I am a 25 year old professional trumpet player, primarily jazz improv, but I have been told I have a decent classical/orchestral tone and approach.

My problem as of late has been that of endurance, as I feel I've been unable of yet to build up the bulk needed to play several hours a day as I would wish. Have you any suggestions as to ways I might be able to build up muscle so as to play for longer stretches? If it matters, I utilize a fixed jaw embochure.

Thanks for reading this. Best of luck to you and yours in the New Year!

Logan Keese

2. Manny Laureano

Manny Laureano Utimate User

Sep 29, 2004
    USA
    Dear Logan,

Since I haven't a clue as to what a "fixed jaw" embouchure is (it does sound painful, though) I won't address that.

The key to endurance is being able to play with your best sound for the longest period of time posible in any register. That's what endurance is, simply stated.

Logically, then, you have to practice in such a way so that your focus is sound not just time on your face. When you play in the upper register is your sound crystal clear as in the middle register? If not, you're not going to last very long up there.

When you have a middle register etude that lasts a whole page but ends on a high C is the high C as clear as what came before it?

Other than those questions, can you play page 44 of the Arbans from top to bottom with a few beats rest in between each line take a short 5 minute break and then practice page 125 the same way? Those are some things to practice.

ML

3. lckeese

lckeese New Friend

Dec 28, 2006