Interesting Fatigue Issue

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by usamablackbelt, Jun 2, 2010.

1. usamablackbelt

usamablackbelt New Friend

Jun 2, 2010
    Hey, so this is my first post, so let me give some background, then my issue.

I've been playing for about 10 years now, have a Strad, and use one of those interchangable Warburton's for my mouthpiece. I have a range up to C, sometimes up to Eb (above the staff).

Anyway, I've been encorperating Caruso exercises into my routine when I play. I make a conscious effort to not use too much mouthpiece pressure, to stay relaxed, and take very deep breaths. However, instead of getting that numb, flabby feeling in my lips, they just straight up stop vibrating. I won't even be exhausted (I think) and they'll just stop. I've tried increasing air flow, making sure my mouth is open, and all that, but it doesn't really change that. Keep in mind this happens to notes I can actually hit (usually D) and has no effect on my overall stamina.

Do you guys have any ideas? I feel like it's been stopping me for a bit.

2. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    It sounds to me like you just have weak chops. There is no definition in the vibrating area when using little mouthpiece pressure if the muscles are not doing their thing.

Does more pressure help? (try it)

Pressure is a legitimate stage in every trumpeters development.

The second thing that comes to mind is the use of a too shallow mouthpiece (and weak chops). Then it is very possible that the lips bottom out and stop vibrating. A deeper mouthpiece or more chop control would be the answer here.

3. usamablackbelt

Jun 2, 2010
    Thanks Rowuk. How much pressure then is healthy? I know using all pressure is a horrible idea. And, as always, I guess practice will give me stronger chops? :p

4. Kima

Kima New Friend

Oct 29, 2009
    Athens, Greece