Intermediate, or a regular student model?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Stormcat, May 9, 2009.

1. Stormcat

Stormcat New Friend

Feb 20, 2009
    Arizona
    I have been playing trumpet for around 6 years and am currently a freshman in high school (though school ends in about two weeks)
    my dad doesnt know much about musical instruments, so he doesnt really understand the whole quality/price thing
    I have been playing on a student model trumpet from a 3rd-party company (actually a really good horn, I would prefer it over some getzen/yamaha trumpets I have played) though I am one of the better trumpet players at the school (which is one of the best in the state)
    Anyways, a few days ago we went to the music store, and I able to try out a few used intermediate trumpets. And ended up picking out a used Yamaha YTR-232 as my favorite (pretty good condition, had an open feel, but they didnt have a very wide selection)
    my dad was pretty happy about the purchase, as he felt he haggled it to a bargain ($450ish)
    later when i got home, i decided to look up the trumpet via the internet. I found that the horn has been retired for over 20 years and was listed as a student model (basically the new yamaha ytr-2335)
    I'm starting to believe i was ripped off :/ because i honestly dont need two standard models to switch between. Anyways, apparently you can get ytr-232's for around $100 at some places

I love the feel of the yamaha xeno (professional), and would love to play one of those instead. But sadly my parents dont see why they should buy a 2k dollar trumpet while there's cheaper ones :/
    Sorry if this was a little long

Thanks,
    Erica :play:

2. RUFocused

RUFocused Pianissimo User

Apr 26, 2009
    Cedar Rapids, IA