Involuntary smile embouchure forming

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Trumpeter3197, Sep 16, 2012.

1. Trumpeter3197

Trumpeter3197 New Friend

Jun 30, 2012
    I've been playing trumpet for close to 10 years now, and lately I've been working a lot on range, as I've been moved up to play lead. Last year was the first year I really worked on range, and my range soared within a month of range work. Starting near the end of last year, my range suffered mercilessly (went from a strong double C to a weak high Eb). My teacher and friends attributed this to playing too much in the upper register and damaging my muscles. Over the summer I had several periods of range building, followed quickly by range drops again. It's now been a full year since I started working on range, and I can estimate it's been about 10 or 12 times now where I've built my range like crazy and then it drops just as suddenly as it came.

I saw, from doing research, that my embouchure might me the cause of all of this. When I play in the upper register, do lip trills, or just get tired, my corners involuntarily form a smile embouchure, the embouchure that I've heard so many bad things about. This is completely out of my control, however, I've tried forming a pucker embouchure and I can't get a sound out, and as hard as I try not to smile when I go high it's simply impossible.

Could this be the source of my awful range problems throughout the past year? If so, how can I fix it? Again, the smile forming is completely involuntary.

2. Pete Anderson

Pete Anderson Pianissimo User

Feb 27, 2008
    Sounds to me like possibly overuse/injury which caused bad things to creep in, and then those things were reinforced without you realizing it.