Is it me or the new horn

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Catchops, Mar 10, 2011.

1. Catchops

Catchops New Friend

Jan 5, 2010
    Kansas City
    I'd like to get some advice/direction with an issue that I'm having with a new horn....well...new to me.

I've been playing a Bach Strad 72* since 1985 (ML .459 bore). I have always loved that horn. But last summer I played a friend's horn that would be considered a "ML+" bore - I think it was a .462. Regardless, I loved the open feel of the horn. I have also had a few small mechanical issues with the Bach, so I thought I'd look around for a horn that had similar characteristics to my Strad (sizzle in the upper register as well as the ability for a big warm sound in the middle and lower when necessary - all great for big band Jazz) - BUT would also have a bit more open blow.

Anyway...after playing about a half a dozen horns I found one that I really like - a Kanstul 1600 - the Wayne Bergeron model. It is a used horn - but made in fall of 2008 - so fairly new. It is a .460 bore (not much larger) but has a modified lead pipe which gives it a nice open feel - and can still sizzle in the upper register.

Anyway...I love the open feel. It is also a very responsive horn and I think my lower register is clearer, yet didn't take away from the upper register.

The bad thing is that the range between D (on the staff) and high A, I am REALLY STRUGGLING with being able to play with accuracy as well as being able to play dolce and lightly while in that range. I thought that I was just going through a tough time, so I pulled out my Bach, and behold, those notes come out again nicely.