Is it Possible to "Outgrow" an Instrument?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Trio15, Sep 10, 2014.

1. Trio15

Trio15 New Friend

Jan 31, 2013
    Oklahoma
    I'm a high school senior playing on a Jupiter intermediate trumpet with a Bach 3c mouthpiece. I've had this instrument since I started playing six years ago and have been using the mouthpiece for a year. I dropped my instrument once and twisted the bell, though it was repaired within the week and I didn't seem to have a problem that my director pointed out. Since August, though, we've run into a conflict.
    There are three of us playing the first part when we march this year. The third person doesn't seem to be having the same problem as the second chair player and myself. The two of us are constantly out of tune. From G ( on staff) to C (two ledgers above) we never can seem to be in tune.
    We found out I can bend notes and shift them between flat and sharp. However, I'm not really sure how I do this, it seems to "just happen".
    In the past month, I've really noticed my playing has gone from dark to bright and brassy.
    We're going to try tuning for a little longer, but we may resort to testing different trumpets in order to isolate if this is a player problem or a horn problem (though I don't want to blame my instrument).
    Is it possible that after all this time I've outgrown my beloved trumpet to an extent? As in, would it perhaps be for the best for me to find a new one? And if so, what kind should I look for?
    Before we get to that point, would it be worth switching trumpets with the other player and seeing if that makes a difference in how we play?
    Any advice is appreciated. If you need more information, please ask whatever may help.

2. VetPsychWars

VetPsychWars Fortissimo User

Nov 8, 2006
    Greenfield WI