Is it wrong?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by rainbowboy023, Mar 9, 2011.

1. rainbowboy023

rainbowboy023 Pianissimo User

Feb 15, 2011
    Australia
    Recently, I won a spot with a good amateur concert band that holds auditions when ever a spot opens up. I won the audition, but I'm a professional musician in both orchestral and jazz styles, I'm looking forward to playing in the group because I really love the sound of a good concert band, but at the same time feel bad about taking a spot from an amateur player, who probably doesn't get many other chances to play. So do you think that being a professional, I should just let the non professional play in the amateur group since I have plenty of other chances to play and perform?

2. Solar Bell

Solar Bell Moderator Staff Member

May 11, 2005
    Metro Detroit
    Ultimately it is a question for YOU to answer.

Most "amature" bands have many professional members.

If you being there will serve to help other members and you are willing to help and advise other members, I would stay in the band.

I am sure they are happy to have you.

3. Dale Proctor

Dale Proctor Utimate User

Jul 20, 2006
    Heart of Dixie
    If the band is a good one, and the other players (amateur or not) play near your level of proficiency, I'd say play in it and have a good time. If it's a so-so band and you're by far the best player in it, you may not want to play with them, anyway. I've always said I didn't want to play in any band that would have me on solo part...:D

4. mrsemman

mrsemman Piano User

Apr 8, 2010
    Massachusetts
    Dale, your modesty is truly annoying. What you meant to say is that you wouldn't want to play in a band that would have me doing a solo part. Right? (Remember we have seen you play). You're great.

5. Dale Proctor

Dale Proctor Utimate User

Jul 20, 2006
    Heart of Dixie