Is this a normal process?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by msodasoccer51, Dec 3, 2008.

1. msodasoccer51

msodasoccer51 New Friend

Sep 1, 2008
    I have been playing trumpet for roughly 2 1/2 years. Now I am a freshman in high school and are playing second trumpet. I can play the first music but there are a bunch of good seniors this year, so seniority gets it. I have a concern though. For about 4 months I will be great, my lips will be in great condition. I can usually during that period, get a solid Eb above staff. Then for about 1 1/2 months, my lips suck. I have trouble with range, and my endurance is less. I get a weird extra buzz when I go anything below a staff G. It's a process I go through every so often and then it gets better, but it's just something I want so other trumpet players opinions on. As a sidenote, I am playing on an Yamaha 11B4, but am thinking about switching to a Vincent Bach 7c so I can get a better, rich, dark tone for symphonic band now that marching season is over. I was wondering if that is a bad idea.:-)

2. Bob Grier

Bob Grier Forte User

May 4, 2007
    Greensboro, NC
    at your age it's not unusual for your chops to be inconsistant. How about a good private teacher?

3. eliajaz

eliajaz New Friend

Nov 30, 2008
    Tucson, AZ
    I agree, it can be fixed though. One thing to keep in mind is practice technique everyday, and very consistently. Just because you are a freshmen it doesn't mean your not at the top of the ranks, maybe just lack of experience? or commitment?

I am not saying you are either, but dome musical directors will assume this. So show what you got and get the lead!

4. Ed Kennedy

Ed Kennedy Forte User

Nov 18, 2006
    Get a private good teacher. If you tell us what city or area you reside somebody here will know a teacher to recommend.

In my teaching and personal experience I've found most problems like yours to be air related. The chops are a symptom.

5. JRFIII

JRFIII Pianissimo User