Is this normal?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by TrumpetGal, Nov 30, 2008.

1. TrumpetGal

TrumpetGal New Friend

Nov 30, 2008
    Hey everyone, first time on this wonderful forum. I am in Grade 9 Concert Band and I just started playing the trumpet (Literally just started) because I wanted to take a break from my usual instrument which is the drum kit/percussion; As a keener myself, I have played nearly 3 hours yesterday when renting my trumpet, and after I stopped, I noticed my top lip has gotten "mushier" and "droopier".

Edit: Also...it's still in the same state today. I guess sleeping it off doesn't work.

Is this normal? I really don't want this to be permanent!

Thanks a bunch.

2. willbarber

willbarber Piano User

Nov 22, 2008
    Medina, NY
    You probably outplayed your endurance.

Did you warm down with lip slurs?
    Try pedal tones, by reducing pressure, and only playing just enough air to make a noise. It'll be low, like a tuba.

Also, buzz out your lips, like making a tractor noise.

3. TrumpetGal

TrumpetGal New Friend

Nov 30, 2008
    Sorry, I don't exactly know what lip slurs/pedal tones are. Though I've created the sound you descripted, but not just afterwards I played.

Tried buzzing them out, still in the same shape.

Man, the B flat Concert Scale is hard. :p

4. willbarber

willbarber Piano User

Nov 22, 2008
    Medina, NY
    Lip slurs are playing different notes on the same fingering.
    Here's more.

Here's more on pedal tones.

You've gotta do those before and after you practice, every time.
    We started doing there for field band, and we all have more endurance, and our chops feel better after wards.
    And you've gotta buzz out right after you play, for at least 5 minutes, or your lip will be horrible the next day.

5. TrumpetGal

TrumpetGal New Friend

Nov 30, 2008
    That's great to know! Thank you so much. Now I just hope my lip will
    turn back to normal.

6. Sofus

Sofus Forte User

Jul 26, 2008