It's been nice, Folks,

Discussion in 'TM Lounge' started by Still Trying, Jul 6, 2005.

1. Still Trying

Still Trying Pianissimo User

Nov 23, 2003
    Lake Jackson, TX USA
    But I'm not sure how much longer I'll be able to hang with all you fellow trumpet geeks. By profession, I'm a school teacher. But to support and raise my five kids, I went to work in a chemical plant years ago. The plant got shut down by the company, and the whole work force got laid off. Since then I have been what is known as a "contractor". That's kind of like a chemical plant ronin. I have no "master", i.e. permanent employer. I start up chemical plants and do all kinds of technical writing.

And it's as a technical writer that I have been under contract for most of the last 6 years. I also did a couple of startups on this gig. But it's all coming to an end this Friday, as I am being laid off. I have no idea where my next job will be. A lot of my associates are either in Iraq or China right now. But in any case I have no idea to what extent I will, be able to continue participating on TM. Worse than that, I don't know to what extent I will be able to keep up with my trumpet playing on my next assignment.

But I have enjoyed interacting with all you fine folks. I wish you much success with your trumpet playing endeavors. I truely appreciate all the advice I have received on this forum from more advanced players, who were willing to share with the rest of us. Thanks. I sincerely hope I can check in from time to time and get a trumpet "fix" from all your posts. But just in case you don't hear from me for a while, I don't want anyone to think I'm going away mad. I may just be going away.