"Jake"

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Harold Zinno, Aug 15, 2007.

1. Harold Zinno

Harold Zinno Pianissimo User

Jul 17, 2007
    Connecticut
    Hello, any former students of Jake reading these forums? I studied with him in 76-78. Just thought we would reminisce.

Thanks
    Harold

Last edited: Aug 15, 2007
  2. RG111

RG111 Piano User

Nov 12, 2003
    Do you mean Arnold Jacobs or Don Jacoby? There are individuals here who studied with both of them. I didn't have the privilege of studying with either, so I cant help.
    Roy

3. Harold Zinno

Jul 17, 2007
    Connecticut
    I'm sorry for the confusion. I am referring to Don Jacoby.

Last edited: Aug 15, 2007
  4. mike ansberry

mike ansberry Forte User

Dec 30, 2003
    Clarksville, Tennessee, U
    I studied with Jake from 1981 through 1984. I learned a ton of stuff from him. I didn't really know who he was at first. I was from a small town in Missouri and had never heard of him. I just knew that all the guys at NTSU studied with him. At my first lesson the phone rang. Jake answered it and said "Doc baby, hugs and kisses. Lunch, sure, what time and where." I was blown away. Of course it didn't take me long to learn who he was and how lucky I was to have lessons with him

I was working on a picc piece for my grad recital. The picc I was playing wasn't much. Jake pulled out a 3 valve Selmer and loaned it to me. He said he just went out to his mailbox one day and it was there with a note from Selmer saying check it out and let us know what you think. It was an awesome horn. It had a big, open sound. I put a kicker ring on the 3rd valve for Jake so intonation could be helped.

5. Harold Zinno

Jul 17, 2007
    Connecticut