James Morrison and the SSO

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Aussie Matt, Feb 17, 2011.

1. Aussie Matt

Aussie Matt Pianissimo User

Oct 12, 2010
    I'm taking my son to see James Morrison and the Sydney Symphony Orchestra tomorrow night at the Sydney Opera House and I can't wait. The last time I saw JM was in 1987 at in a little jazz club in Sydney. I was a drummer and really interested in what his brother John was doing behind the kit. What James was doing was so over my head it wasn't funny.
    Tomorrow night they're doing movie tunes—Star Wars, James Bond etc—so perfect for my eight year old son.
    So, has anyone seen James Morrison lately? The guy is a fair dinkum legend down here in Oz (sorry, I broke into local vernacular there for minute). I'll let you know how the evening goes, if I can get my jaw off the floor and get home, but just wondering what his reputation is like elsewhere.

2. Mark B

Mark B Pianissimo User

Aug 20, 2010
    Redlands, CA
    I'm listening to "Scream Machine" right now. I love the guy.

Mark

3. bumblebee

bumblebee Fortissimo User

Jan 21, 2010
    Great Southern Land
    Enjoy the show! This is one of the things I miss out on by not living near one of the "Big 4" in Australia...

Fairly recently Mr Morrison has changed horn brands to Schagerl - I tried out one of his signature Schagerl models in January and it was very nice indeed (and that was with me playing it - so imagine what he can do with it!) - I presume he'll be playing his today.

--bumblebee

4. Darkflugel20

Darkflugel20 New Friend

Jan 10, 2011
    Wow, lucky guy! I'd love to see James Morrison live!

5. tedh1951

tedh1951 Utimate User

Oct 18, 2007
    The Wide Brown Land