Jazz Workshop

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Cornyandy, Aug 12, 2012.

1. Cornyandy

Cornyandy Fortissimo User

Jan 9, 2010
    East Yorkshire
    Wish me luck guys as part of my new intro to Jazz I've tentatively signed up for a Jazz Workshop in Novemebr (No good for my friends across the pond or down under I know but I'm excited) I am a novice as far as Jazz is concerned.:play:

2. Cornyandy

Jan 9, 2010
    East Yorkshire
    Sorry should have added suggested listening for the novice pretty please.........

3. GijsVis

GijsVis Piano User

Jul 23, 2012
    Well, you have to start once, I think it will greatly help, you could also try to start improvising already using blues scales, if you know about them. They basicly are (in C, concert Bb): C Eb F F# G Bb. Any other key will just be transcribing. You could also youtube for backing tracks or how to improvise movies.

Good luck, and I hope you will enjoy the wonders of the Jazz. =)

Last edited: Aug 12, 2012
  4. Brekelefuw

Brekelefuw Fortissimo User

Mar 21, 2006
    Toronto
    You must mean the notes of the C blues scale. Not "blues/jazz keys"
    To be proficient at improvising, you must have a strong handle of all keys and modes, and also listen to as much as you can from the masters.

5. kehaulani

kehaulani Fortissimo User

May 14, 2011
    Hawaian homey
    Cornyandy, what is it that you don't know to listen to? I other words, what are you already listening to - little to nothing, only dixieland, etc? What would you like help on?

6. GijsVis

GijsVis Piano User

Jul 23, 2012