John Clyman

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by psalt, Jan 22, 2004.

1. psalt

psalt New Friend

Jan 15, 2004
    Australia
    Who has studied with John Clyman? Can you give me some idea of him as a teacher and his approach. I believe he was very strict about playing softly.
    Peter Salt

2. dbacon

dbacon Mezzo Piano User

Oct 24, 2003
    Scottsdale, AZ.
    I think he was real strick on everything. I've talked to George Graham about this and he was into pushing everything. Every note perfect. I have a routine of his that's not real exciting to practice, but very intense when everything is correct. Take your time on everynote until it's the way it should be.

3. Larry Gianni

Larry Gianni Piano User

Nov 11, 2003
    Los Angeles
    Peter,

I studied with John Clyman for 4 years. He was the first LA teacher I sought after when I hit town.

Strick is an understatement.

He didn't worry about any " Self-Esteem " issues with his students. His teaching methods would be frowned on greatly today, but 25 - 30 years ago, most of the old timers took this " strick " approach, but Clyman waas the master of " tough-love" He said he used" a little sugar , but alot of vinegar to toughen you up" trying to make you meet the demands the town might place on you. The worse was at the beginning ( first year )when John was testing you to see what your breaking point might be. He actually told players to " hang it up" , " you'll never make it" , "If I played like you, I'd do it for a hobby only, do something else for a living ", pretty rough stuff for some younger players to handle, but I came off the road to town so, I had a little grizzle on me all ready.