Just A Bad Day?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Steve Bales, May 3, 2013.

1. Steve Bales

Steve Bales New Friend

Apr 5, 2013
    Hello All,
    I am another “Comeback Player” after being off the horn for about 18 years. I always missed playing, but it was a bet with my wife that got me playing regularly again. With that said, I have been back playing again for just about a year and feel like I’m further along now than I was before I put the horn down. I’m not a professional player by any means, just a guy that has a passion for playing the trumpet as all of you do. So, on to my reason for this post. My wife and I took a small vacation last week where I was unable to take the horn with me and I chose not to take a mouthpiece to try to keep the chops alive. When we got back, I was anxious to get the horn out to see what “damage” I may have cause by not practicing for a week. I must say, it wasn’t bad at all…good tone, endurance, strength, and able to solidly hit double G’s without any problems, so I was happy. I always practice every day even if it’s just for an hour of scales, etc. But, last night, I got the horn out, did my normal warm-up exercises, but couldn’t play squat afterwards…no range, no power, no nothing. Disappointed, I put the horn in the case and called it a day. I was wondering if anyone else ever experiences a “bad day” like this and what I can do to avoid it or fix it? I did do some “pencil exercises” while sitting at my desk at work yesterday, but I wouldn’t have imagined it would have cause what happened last night.

Thanks for your replies…

2. gmonady

gmonady Utimate User

Jan 28, 2011
    Dayton, Ohio