Just Curious

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Pinch, Feb 23, 2015.

1. Pinch

Pinch New Friend

Dec 15, 2014
    This is one of those questions I should probably apologize for in advance:

I'm new to the trumpet (sax player) and playing for maybe two months now. I have a Gtezen Severinsen Eterna from the early 70s in great shape that I had serviced by a professional tech. Recently, I picked up a 1952 Blessing Standard from a guy on Craigslist for $50. It's in nice shape too. Anyway, using the same mouthpiece (Bach Artisan 5C) I find it easier to play the Blessing than the Getzen. I can't describe it like you guys can, but it just blows more easily for me.

Maybe it's my imagination. I'm hoping someone knows these horns well enough to offer a possible explanation. Thanks!

2. trickg

trickg Utimate User

Oct 26, 2003
    Baltimore/DC
    The best explanation is that it's just a combination of factors that go together to create better efficiency in one over the other, or it could be that you are just getting better feedback from one over the other.

3. Dennis78

Dennis78 Fortissimo User

Feb 1, 2015
    Cincinnati
    All horns play different, and horn mouthpiece combinations make a lot difference

4. gordonfurr1

gordonfurr1 Forte User

Aug 2, 2010
    North Carolina
    And sometimes the same instrument model from the same manufacturer plays differently...actually probably more than "sometimes".
    The variation in the build quality of instruments is great enough in many cases that the result is noticeably different.