Just Started Learning, Need info.

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by ADDER, May 26, 2008.

1. ADDER

ADDER Pianissimo User

May 25, 2008
    London UK
    Hi All
    I've been playing Trumpet for about two months now, Learned most of the stuff (scales etc) from the net (can't afford lessons at the moment)
    Just wondered if anyone knows of any good books to get so I can progress further?

Sight reading is not great but I get there in the end, I've been a guitar player for over 25 years and have a good ear. At the moment I'm getting a nice tone from the Trumpet but I would like to progress using the right methods.

At the moment all I seem to do is play scales....

Any help would be great.

Cheers
    Geoff

2. Vulgano Brother

Vulgano Brother Moderator Staff Member

Mar 23, 2006
    Parts Unknown
    Books won't replace a teacher. Buy a book about how to swim, or a book about how to ride a bicycle, and you'll get the idea.

It is hard to go wrong with scales, though. Try them in thirds, fourths, and all those nifty diatonic variations. My favorite is: "do, re, mi, fa, sol, la, ti, do, re: re, mi, fa, sol, la, ti, do, re, mi..." etc.

Scales, a teacher and Marmite in the right proportions are the key to fun and success with the trumpet.

Have fun!

3. Richard Oliver

Richard Oliver Forte User

Jul 18, 2006
    Casper, WY
    Best practice sez find a teacher.

4. bigtiny

bigtiny Mezzo Forte User

Aug 14, 2005
    I've said it before and I'll say it again....

Arban's Complete Conservatory Method

bigtiny

5. Firestas'1

Firestas'1 Piano User

Dec 21, 2006
    New Jersey
    You can't go wrong with Arban's.
    Clarke books are also good.
    Do try to find a teacher, even once a month is better than nothing. Playing this instrument,especially when starting out you REALLY need a good mentor.

6. bigtiny

bigtiny Mezzo Forte User

Aug 14, 2005