Just started playing again, ADVICE PLEASE!!!

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by mandapandas, Mar 14, 2007.

1. mandapandas

mandapandas New Friend

Feb 6, 2007
    Princess Anne, MD
    Hello,

I started playing the trumpet in the 6th grade band and stopped playing in 9th grade marching band(about 12 yrs ago). Last year, I decided that I wanted to play again since trumpet players at my church kept falling through and I also just missed the sound. I took lessons at a local music store for a couple months last fall and now I'm taking lessons with a professor at a local college using the Arban's book. I love my lessons but I'm still playing my student trumpet from middle school.

Two questions:

1. It's difficult to play with my church's praise team because they don't have sheet music b/c they all play by ear and can learn from hearing a song. It takes me a day just to get a few measures from listening to a song. Also, the sheet music is usually not available for the songs we sing. What can I do about this?

2. I'm progressing but I wonder if purchasing a professional trumpet would be wise or if I should start with an intermediate. I really don't even know the difference. What do you think?

Last edited: Mar 14, 2007
  2. Manny Laureano

Manny Laureano Utimate User

Sep 29, 2004
    USA
    The piano player doesn't use music?

ML

3. Alex Yates

Alex Yates Forte User

Aug 11, 2005
    Atlanta, GA
    Manda - if there is NO sheet music available whatsoever, you should tape the songs when they do them and then transcribe them for yourself.

4. mandapandas

mandapandas New Friend

Feb 6, 2007
    Princess Anne, MD
    Nope, the guy on the keyboard doesn't use music. He just learns the songs by listening to the cds

5. Eclipsehornplayer

Eclipsehornplayer Forte User

Sep 14, 2005
    Metro Detroit
    Egads! :shock:

I can't imagine playing anything in a church setting without sheet music.