Keeping lips in best condition?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by shun, Sep 28, 2015.

1. shun

shun New Friend

Sep 13, 2015
    Hi all, I'm a senior in high school, and I've been playing for 6 years, in a way. My trumpet education throughout 6-9th grade was very ineffective, and I didn't even realize it, so I really only started playing seriously since my junior year, or last year, so my skills are most likely not up to par with others my age.

Anyway, school started about 2 months ago, and my playing was the best that it had ever been. My tone was pretty good (nothing special, though), my range seemed to have been improving every few days, I arguably had the best endurance out of the whole section, as well as control and accuracy over my partials, as well as entrances and articulations, which I need all of to successfully play my part, which is 1st. However, ever since that day, I have been playing for around 5-6 hours a day, occasionally reaching up to 7-8, exceptions being Saturday, where I play for 3 hours, and Sunday, where I would either rest completely or play for about 30 minutes; the reason for this being that I have 2 periods of band, I play during lunch, and occasionally I would play during a third period (hence the occasional 7-8 hour days), and then right after I would have band after-school for a few hours, whether it be marching, or symphonic+jazz, depending on the day.