Knowledge on playing with braces?? anyone?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Pedagogy' started by mctrumpet, May 1, 2008.

1. mctrumpet

mctrumpet Pianissimo User

Apr 5, 2008
    FL
    Ive been playing with braces for 3 years and ive found out that with them everything sounds pinched slightly and no matter what i do with them on i cant make it sound any better than it is right now. Practice,embouchure changes,the whole nine yards and it seems that im not really getting anywhere. Anyone help?please?

2. stchasking

stchasking Forte User

Jun 11, 2006
    " Maggio embouchure
    A rare, puckered embouchure, sometimes used by jazz players for extremely high "screamer" notes. Maggio claimed that the pucker embouchure gives more endurance than some systems. Carlton MacBeth is the main proponent of the pucker embouchure. The Maggio system was established because Louis Maggio had sustained an injury which prevented him from playing. In this system you cushion the lips by extending them or puckering (like a monkey). This puckering enables the players to overcome physical malformations. It also lets the player play for an extended time in the upper register. The pucker can make it easy to use too open an aperture. Lots of very soft practice can help overcome this."

Wikipedia

Seek out a teacher who knows this embouchure. We have several threads on this so use the search option.

Try this site: Bob Odneal Trumpet

3. jazz9

jazz9 Piano User

Dec 5, 2007
    Chilhowie, VA
    Whatever you do, try not to apply too much pressure onto your top lip. I did this for the entire 3 years I had mine on, and 3 years later, I still have brace impressions on my upper lip! I used this to compensate for the space created between my teeth and lips, and it killed me when I got them off. I thought I would be awesome, but it took months and months to get back. Anyway, just don't push back on your lips! Find another way!

4. Pedal C

Pedal C Mezzo Forte User

Jan 24, 2005