Large Bore Trumpets - Not Suitable for Newbies or Average Joes?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by zorrosg, Feb 28, 2011.

1. zorrosg

zorrosg Pianissimo User

Jan 30, 2011
    Currently I am a beginner using a Yamaha YTR2335 which has an ML bore of 0.459" according to the specs. I came across a large bore trumpet, a Jupiter XO1604S that I am kind of interested in buying, but this is the large bore model, bore size 0.462".

According to my Rough Guide to Trumpet booklet, it says :
    "In order to play a trumpet with a large bore, you need a good embrochure and good breath control. If you are just beginning, you're usually best off with a medium-sized bore, about 0.455"

Reading the above gives me the idea that the large bore trumpet, like the Jupiter I am considering buying is only suitable for accomplished or advanced players, and therefore it would be inadvisable for a newbie like me to buy such a trumpet. Would this be a correct concluscion?

Second question is, what can one expect, in terms of playing demands, moving from the ML bore to the L bore. Will we need a lot more air and lung and lip power, or is the difference not that great?

Also any comments on the Jupiter XO1604S specifically as a good/bad quality trumpet would be welcomed, for those who own it, or have had the chance to play it. Thanks everybody for your advice in this matter.

2. mimic

mimic Pianissimo User

May 3, 2009
    Pennsylvania
    I have played ML bore horns all of my life. Recently I got a Lawler L step bore horn. Other than the step bore having a bit of getting used to I couldn't tell that big of a difference between the ML and L bores. Air flow seems to be similar, with a bit more open blow in the high register with the L bore. I do notice I tire a little sooner with the L bore, but it's a minor amount of time. I'm not a pro, just a comeback player who sits in with a community band at times and does church work.

3. mrsemman

mrsemman Piano User

Apr 8, 2010