Lip damage! :(

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by the newbie, Sep 8, 2012.

1. the newbie

the newbie Pianissimo User

Jan 27, 2011
    San Francisco
    Kinda over did it a couple of days ago and have developed a little pimple on my top lip, one of the tiny sore little pimples with a white head.

Whats the best way to recover? Is there any fast ways, or should i just wait it out?

Either way no playing for me this weekend...:(

2. kingtrumpet

kingtrumpet Utimate User

Sep 20, 2009
    New York State USA
    Personally, I would pop the little sucker -- then put some triple antibiotic on it!!! (I am NOT a doctor, so people will advise you differently).
    but, basically, my questions would be 1.) is it necessary to get right back at the trumpet today?? 2.)if you took a couple of days off, do you think you would lose the ability to play the trumpet in those few days? 3.) would playing softly and some easy low range slurs, or even a bunch of long tones cause you a lot of pain in that area???

(of course someone is going to ask if you are allergic to your mpc -- but I won't) ---- ultimately it is your choice --- I don't think a pimple is of the same nature as swollen lips, or strained muscles ---- and I think you will be OK

3. the newbie

the newbie Pianissimo User

Jan 27, 2011
    San Francisco
    1.No, Im okay with taking a day or 2 off, (I always have my mandolin), 2. Not too worried about loosing my ability, just i felt like i was making good progress lately and hate to be forced to stop now. 3. yeah i tried to play last night and the little pimple gives a lot of pain for all the size it is! Dont want to make it bigger or turn it into a cut/tear so i'm on hiatus.

4. kingtrumpet

kingtrumpet Utimate User

Sep 20, 2009
    New York State USA