Lip fatigue

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by d_rummer, Jun 16, 2009.

1. d_rummer

d_rummer New Friend

May 26, 2009
    Sydney, Australia
    I am only a newbie as a trumpeter. After playing drums most of my life and getting used to a practice routine, practicing the trumpet is a whole new ball game. When I practice I start with a nice rich tone and I am now getting up to high C without to much difficulty. My problem is that after about half and hour all the notes above 3rd space C become a struggle and I get a lot of air going through the horn. I am so keen on practicing at the moment that I am going full bore and wearing myself out.
    Can anyone suggest how often I should rest while practicing or should I be looking more closely at my embouchure. I am using a King 7c mouthpiece and trying to keep my lips in the middle of the cup but I tend to bring my lips further to the top for the high notes.
    cheers.

Last edited: Jun 16, 2009
  2. Sofus

Sofus Forte User

Jul 26, 2008
    Hi, d_rummer!

The only thing alarming here is the fact that you
    move your mouthpiece around. You´ll simply have
    to learn how to play ALL notes with your mp in the
    same position. I promise you: this IS possible!
    The high notes that you can produce by MOVING
    your mp are worth NOTHING!

A newbie that can already play high C: what more can you expect?

Maybe half an hour is what you SHOULD play at this moment.
    For how long have you played so far (it takes TIME to build chops!)?

3. d_rummer

d_rummer New Friend

May 26, 2009
    Sydney, Australia
    Thanks Sofus,
    I will concentrate I keeping the mp in the same place for all the notes.

cheers.

4. backtotrumpet

backtotrumpet New Friend

May 9, 2009