lip problem

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by mariachiplayer123, Jan 2, 2012.

1. mariachiplayer123

mariachiplayer123 Banned

Jan 1, 2012
    hi im new here and i really have some questions.i had been playing since i was like 12 and i used to play to the side off the center and i already had developed a good embochure for about like 5 years of practicing. i really began to hav problems time to time and decided to change my embochure to the center. now i hav just about 1 year with my new embochure but i get tired really quickly and my lips get swollen. im a mariachi musician and i can bearly last 2 hours. sometimes im forced to play about 5-8 hours while i cant play anymore. is it because i have only 1 year since i changed my embochure or is it a lip problem. help!!!!!!!!!! my dad just thinks tht is part of the process of making endurance ... he can play nonstop for like 15 hours and never ever gets tired!

2. DaTrump

DaTrump Forte User

Oct 21, 2011
    Huntsville, Texas
    It takes years to develop a strong embouchure with lots of endurance, when you started to use a more of the center of your mouth, you used new muscles that you hadn't before. It would be almost like starting over all again. Patience and practice are the key to success, as always

3. bach37

bach37 Pianissimo User

Dec 1, 2011
    Change lip placement or embouchure? There is a difference.

4. Local 357

Local 357 Banned

Jul 1, 2011

May I have your attention please. OK everybody listening? Or rather watching? Here is the question that ought to have been asked FIRST:

WHAT MOUTHPIECE ARE YOU USING???

Mariachi music is a heavy playing burden. In most cases you do NOT want to use an overly large, sharp edged mouthpiece. A description of an "OVERLY LARGE, SHARP MOUTHPIECE" is usually anything made by the Vincent Bach corporation.

So tell me which mouthpiece you are using and I will try and answer your post better.

5. DaTrump

DaTrump Forte User

Oct 21, 2011
    Huntsville, Texas