Lip Soreness

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Recursion, Jul 14, 2012.

1. Recursion

Recursion Mezzo Piano User

Jun 22, 2012
    Cape Coral, FL
    As some of you may know, I'm a come-backer. I started playing again a little over a month ago after about 30 years. I play 4-5 times per week, on average, for about 45 minutes each time.

For the past couple of weeks, I've noticed that my lips have been very numb. This numbness lasts for over a day, so it's just not temporary. I presumed this was par for the course; that my chops just need to toughen up. But it hasn't subsided...so just wondering: Is this just par for the course? I just don't remember this sensation occurring 30 years ago (not like I remember much from back then anyhow). TIA.

2. gmonady

gmonady Utimate User

Jan 28, 2011
    Dayton, Ohio
    I think you are starting out a little agressively with the 45 minutes. Give yourself a week at 20 minutes, then add 5 minutes on a week. Don't let any more than one day get in between practice sessions. You need to gradually build the muscle fiber in you lip to prevent fatigue. You initial post gives me the impression you have fatigued embouchure muscle.

3. Dave Mickley

Dave Mickley Forte User

Nov 11, 2005
    Indianapolis
    a couple of things to try is to drink plenty of water during the day and after practicing to apply ChopSaver to your lips. Do not use ChopSaver before playing but only afterwards, it really helps my chops to recover.

4. richtom

richtom Forte User

Dec 7, 2003