Lip Trills

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Flugellover, Apr 28, 2012.

1. Flugellover

Flugellover New Friend

Dec 20, 2011
    Hey all,
    I have never learned how to lip trill, and have a few questions about them.
    1)How long will it take to develop a good lip trill
    2)What should I practice to learn how to lip trill (Keeping in mind I have never done anything before to help lip trills)
    3)Are they easier to do on high notes
    Thanks!
    -Flugelover

2. gmonady

gmonady Utimate User

Jan 28, 2011
    Dayton, Ohio
    How long does it take you to relax? This is an important early first step.

Last edited: Apr 28, 2012
  3. coolerdave

coolerdave Utimate User

Nov 7, 2009
    San Pedro
    How long does it take?
    Tough to answer .. how much do you practice each day and how do you practice ...how long have you been playing ... how natural is playing the trumpet for you ( you playing ability ..some cats can practice something and get it in an afternoon while us mere mortals might need months) .. are you playing properly .. set up,breathing etc... How is your range..
    What should you practice? What method books do you currently work out of?
    If you have the range, in theory, higher notes are easier to lip trill because the notes are closer together.
    I would start of with a metronome and find lip slur exercises. They really wear you out so don't over do it and be patient.
    Do you currently recieve private instructions?

4. jiarby

jiarby Fortissimo User

May 7, 2011
    Arizona
    They get easier as you play higher notes... up to a point.
    the higher you play then the less distance there is between the two partials.

Example: On a middle C the adjacent two partials are G below, and E above. You have to trill a 3rd or a 4th.
    On a High C then you can trill down to an open Bb, or up to a D. Only a whole step. So, it takes less manipulation to make the jump.

What should you practice??