Long time to warm up?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Myshilohmy, Mar 9, 2011.

1. Myshilohmy

Myshilohmy Pianissimo User

Jan 6, 2009
    Indiana
    I've noticed if I get out my horn and start playing the highest I can play is a g on top of the staff and it's weak and sucky. After about 10 or 15 minutes of getting my range up there I can play high C's and D's with an ok sound, but still a little weak. I've heard some experienced players say you should be able to get out your horn and play fine, it's all mental. It is definitely not mental for me. I also know everyone is different, but am I doing something wrong? Maybe playing incorrectly the day before or not warming down well?

2. coolerdave

coolerdave Utimate User

Nov 7, 2009
    San Pedro
    I am no expert .. so this is just my experience.
    Some players like a tight feeling in there lip muscles... most guys I have seen who do this are screamers and use a shallow cup mouthpiece .. those are the guys I see not warming up ... they try to keep the lip muscle tight
    me ... I have to warm up... I look at it like this .. you warm up in sports to avoid injury ..
    If I am playing alot during the day and it's a break of just a few hours then all I need to do is some descending arpeggios starting from 3rd space C then go down in half step increments doing the same ... down to pedal C ...
    this gets my breathing going and lip muscles stretched out a bit..
    when I am done I always do the same down to pedal C ..
    my 2 cents

3. bagmangood

bagmangood Forte User

It was suggested to me once that though once you really get the hang of the horn, you won't have to warm up, but you should anyway.
    Trumpet playing is a physical endeavor and we need to prepare our bodies for it by warming up

4. keehun

keehun Piano User

Feb 4, 2010
    Minnesota
    I would argue warming up definitely makes things easier