Longstanding difficulties

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by DISHOA, May 22, 2011.

1. DISHOA

DISHOA New Friend

Mar 31, 2010
    Hi, all trumpet players and fans.
    I've got a serious problem. I've been playing trumpet for about 12 years. Until six year of my career everything was fine. Then I broke my right hand in a elbow and couldn't play for about year because of it. From this point I've started to play with to much pressure. And I've started to feel much tension in my kneck muscles. We were trying to reduce the tension with my teacher doing soft long notes, soft slurs, breathe control techniques like deep breathing and such. But I think, from that point my trumpet play wasn't changed so much, although my techer says something else. I can hardly hit two-lined C and when I play around G one-lined above the staff I can feel the tension in my neck. I have to relax for about two bars, then muscles in my neck become again usable and I can play.

I'm really frustrated from students playing for about five years and play very relaxed and can hit higher notes notes than me without pressure. When I ask for their secret they often say: "I don't know how I'm doing it, I don't exercise so much, not even every day." I don't really get it. I play every day for about hour and I've got still this issues. I'm trying to take a deep breathe a than play with relaxed soft tone, but it always happned around F or G one-lined. I'll be glad if somebody could help me. Thank you.

2. bumblebee

bumblebee Fortissimo User

Jan 21, 2010
    Great Southern Land
    As soon as you mentioned your neck muscles I wondered what your posture is like. You could be pushing your head forward too much.