Looking for a new horn for high school.

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by jfishfinder, Mar 7, 2015.

Tags:
  1. jfishfinder

jfishfinder New Friend

Feb 15, 2015
    I am a freshman in high school and am looking to get a new horn. I own a beginner conn director trumpet and have hit a wall in terms of playing. can anyone recommend a good horn?

2. Comeback

Comeback Forte User

Jun 22, 2011
    Fort Wayne, IN
    We get questions similar to this quite frequently. A little searching through threads, particularly in "Horns" and "Trumpet Discussion" will provide more reading than you can probably endure. I am thinking you are in the U.S. If so, you have more choices than you can wade through. Does your band director have strong feelings about what trumpets his/her students play? If so, there is little to be gained by getting something he/she does not recommend. Are you receiving private instruction? If so, your teacher will also be a good source of direction. It would be interesting to know what deficiencies you have found in your Conn Director.

Welcome to TM!

Jim

3. jfishfinder

jfishfinder New Friend

Feb 15, 2015
    Thanks for your advice! My Conn director seems stuffy to me. When I first began playing It was fine, but as I continued it became more and more stuffy. I know people will say its the player, but when I play on a professional horn the stuffiness goes away.

4. TrumpetMD

TrumpetMD Fortissimo User

Oct 22, 2008
    Maryland
    My son started on a student horn, which we upgraded when he stated the 9th grade. I'm not sure he reached his limits of his student horn. But I thought it was a good time for an upgrade, and to continue to inspire him to play.

Jim gave some good advice. Advice from your band director or private teacher would be great. A simple answer would be to consider a Bach Stradivarius 37 or a Yamaha Xeno. But of course, there are many other good choices.

Mike

5. SAS

SAS Pianissimo User

Jan 7, 2015