Losing that Sense of Awe

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by gzent, Aug 30, 2005.

1. gzent

gzent Fortissimo User

Nov 5, 2003
    Rochester, MN
    OK, this is probably for the heavy weights out there:

When did you lose that sense of 'awe' when listening to live performances?

Here's the thing, recently I've heard some professional regional groups that 5-10 years ago I would have been in awe of their talent and performance.
    However, since I've become more serious about my playing the last couple years I find myself disappointed after many concerts.

Now, its not that I don't respect the musicians, because they have certainly achieved more than I have, I just don't get that 'Wow!' feeling like I used to.

Can any of you relate to this?

Greg

2. Tootsall

Tootsall Fortissimo User

Oct 25, 2003
    Yee HAW!
    I'm not a pro! I might be a bit "heavy", (although my height hides it well).

But..with regards to the sense of "awe".... I had a conductor one time who said that he HATED to listen to music on the radio or to recordings at home. Not just commercial, 'pop', top 40 music, but almost ANY music. His reasoning was that he found it too easy to hear all of the errors that were being made! (He used to do a lot of adjudication).

Now... I don't subscribe to this philosophy at all; although I might hear the odd thing that makes me go "awk", I still enjoy listening to music.

I do find, that I hear more things that are "off" than I did before I started learning to play music.

Edit: I should add, however, that I actually appreciate well played music even MORE (now that I know first-hand how dang difficult and complex a task it is).

3. Solar Bell

Solar Bell Moderator Staff Member

May 11, 2005
    Metro Detroit
    I agree with Tootsall.