Love my new Calicchio

Discussion in 'Horns' started by trptown, Feb 9, 2004.

1. trptown

trptown New Friend

Feb 8, 2004
    Vancouver BC
    Terry Townson here. I'm playing a raw 1sZ/3rM that John built about two months ago. I absolutely LOVE it! I've been playing for over thirty years and it's by far the best horn I've ever put to my lips! I realize that I'm preaching to the choir here, but please allow me to elaborate. I played a Benge 3X+ for fifteen years, a Burbank for a while and most recently played a Schilke S42 all on a Reeves custom mpc. I really thought I had found what I was looking for with the Schilke. That was before Dave called and had me stop by the Tulsa shop and try out a few horns! I've not been the same since! John and Dave came to my show that night and let me A&B one of their horns with my Schilke. Well, needless to say, the Schilke didn't get much mic time that night! After the show John and Dave were backstage and John said the he wanted to build a similar horn with a bronze bell and his own valve casing. I had mixed emotions...I was honored on one hand, but disappointed on the other that I HAD to play my Schilke until he could finish building mine.
    Well, I got my new baby December 19th. Many sessions and shows later...I'm happier than ever! I just stopped by the shop this last weekend for a little tweaking on my way to Austin. It's always great hanging out at 'Club Duda'. Dave and John are a lot of fun!
    Larry, thanks for this great forum. I look forward to visiting here often.
    ~Terry

2. Larry Gianni

Larry Gianni Piano User

Nov 11, 2003
    Los Angeles
    Terry