Low note trouble

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by YTR-2335, Apr 4, 2006.

1. YTR-2335

YTR-2335 New Friend

Mar 25, 2006
    I'm starting to find it a bit easier to get high notes but the low notes like the lowest open C still alude me. I can get a few once in a while but they aren't focused and I find I must adjust my embouchure quite a bit. So what do some of you experienced players do to get the low notes? Is there somthing special you do with embouchure?

2. R.A.S.

R.A.S. Pianissimo User

Oct 13, 2004
    Woodbury, Minnesota
    Are you talking about "single pedal C", "double pedal C", or just "low C".
    Please describe.

If it's the single pedal C, I've been playing for 25 years and still have trouble getting that note out with open fingering. I usually use 123.

If it's the double pedal C, it will come in time.

If it's just the C one line below the staff, consult with a good teacher! You may need help with the way you approach the whole range of the instrument. I am specifically referring to the kind of advice that is on the Monette site (in their acclimation guide). Very helpful information, and an issue many players struggle with. Someone like Manny Laureano would be able to assess the problem and help you solve the problem.

3. Manny Laureano

Manny Laureano Utimate User

Sep 29, 2004
    USA
    YTR,

I've been thinking about you since the first couple of posts you put up. You are at a distinct disadvantage because you're an adult beginner and are not approaching this new trumpet thing with the child-like simplicity that is such an important part of learning music.