lower lip curling under.....thoughts from teachers!

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by paulyb123, Oct 1, 2008.

1. paulyb123

paulyb123 New Friend

Sep 25, 2008
    I have been teaching for many years and I am wondering what other teachers do with a student who curls the bottom lip underneath!? It seems to become more of a problem as you know when they reach that "wall" of about E top space to about an A a fourth above. I always take extra care when setting students embouchures but come across students from other teachers and sometimes some of my own (perish the thought!) Particularly the enthusiastic ones who are desperate to play a lot and the ones who try to go too high too soon!

I try to get them to practice lip buzzing and mouthpiece buzzing (including glissandos) and focusing on projecting the jaw forward whilst using a mirror but many students find the dedication required to do this quite difficult. Particularly when having to play in school band!

I would like to hear what other teachers do to help their students?

Thanks

2. et_mike

et_mike Mezzo Forte User

Oct 16, 2007
    Chesapeake, VA
    I generally don't mess around with a student's embouchure unless it is totally off the wall crazy or obviously impeding their playing. I truely do not believe there is only one right way to play, so I give them as much freedom as possible to find their own way. However, if you believe the lip curling is truely the reason they have hit a wall, it sounds like you are on the right path. You can only lead the way, it is up to the students to fix the problem.

3. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    I have not changed too many embouchures in my career. I find that the proper care and feeding of the students (proper daily routine) solves most all of the problems that come up without creating a new one with an embouchure switch.