Major breakthrough in trumpet playing!!!

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by the newbie, Jun 5, 2012.

1. the newbie

the newbie Pianissimo User

Jan 27, 2011
    San Francisco
    So I am self taught, about 3 years now and recently after watching that austrailian guys videos.(forget his name and internet slow... the mystery to mastery guy.)

I stop "tutt" ing out the air i, just blow. let my lips form the natural buzz, or vibration, i give up on the lip buzz thing with a mouthpiece, it might be good for seasoned pros, but i could never do it good enough.

With the lead pipe blowing and further on, one can concentrate on just pushing air and not worrying about the lips.

Side note also maybe it's just my embouchere has just recently developed and im able to play better... either way all is good.

2. the newbie

the newbie Pianissimo User

Jan 27, 2011
    San Francisco
  3. Mud

Mud Pianissimo User

May 26, 2012
    Noblesville, IN
    I think the reason why you cant do the mouthpiece buzz is because for some reason, it takes a considerably lot more air and buzzing to actually get the mouthpiece to make a buzzing noise. I couldn't do it for a while, and if you work at it, you can eventually do a scale on the mouthpiece (depending on the mouthpiece, i have a 3C). I do that sometimes before I warm up. it wakes up your chops.

4. stumac

stumac Fortissimo User

Oct 19, 2008
    Flinders Vic Australia
    Thats great, I have had a couple of lessons with Greg, which gave me a new insight to playing, I used to do a lot of free and mouthpiece buzzing on the 100km drive to band rehersal, since my lessons I have stopped this and concentrated on getting the best and most resonant tone from the instrument possible and being as relaxed as possible in chops and body.

Leadpipe playing may be helpfull, but it is what comes out the bell that matters, it is what the audience hears.