Making a life out of trumpet playing?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by samdaman, Jun 16, 2006.

1. samdaman

samdaman Pianissimo User

Jun 15, 2006
    Baltimore, MD
    Dear Manny,
    This is my first ever post on this website so here it goes:
    My name is Sam Tate. I'm from Birdsboro PA (just outside of Reading PA). Right now I'm 17 years old, going into my senior year of high school. I've been playing trumpet for nine years and taking trumpet lessons for eight years. So far I've studied with two teachers, Jack Chairelli and Jim Spangler. They both are excellent teachers and I've learned a lot from them about music and trumpet playing. For three years I've also recieved piano lessons from Mr. Chairelli. I've been involved in Berks County Music Festivals from middle school all the way to high school. Just last year I also auditioned into District Band and Chorus, and went on to make it into Region V band. I also play in the Reading Philharmonic Orchestra and Wyomissing Band, as well as marching and concert band at Daniel Boone High School. Right now I'm in the process of figuring out what I would like to do for the rest of my life... ha... I can't believe I would say that so casually. :shock: I would like to become a professional trumpet player in a major orchestra or group in the United States and make a living that way. I have also considered music education or music business as a career pathway. How does a high school senior go about making a career in music? I'm just sorta lost. I know hard work, practice, and determination are keys to my goal, but I'm not totally sure what else I need to do to set myself up for success. Thank you very much for all you time!! It will really mean the world to me in two or three years.
    -Sam

2. Manny Laureano

Manny Laureano Utimate User

Sep 29, 2004
    USA
    Sam,

Very simply: