making the most out of practice

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by gregtrum84, Nov 9, 2005.

1. gregtrum84

gregtrum84 New Friend

Oct 19, 2005
    Boston, MA
    Hi Manny,

Greg here again. I've only posted once before, so let me give you some background. I'm a college junior going to school in Boston, and I've been putting in 2-3 hours a day on the trumpet since around the end of my junior year in college...I've been doing lots of various summer festivals for as long as I can remember. The point is, I've got a lot of musical experience that I feel I'm not making the most of right now. I came across a teacher this summer, Judy Saxton, who brought out some of the most easy and effortless playing I've ever experienced. I remember having so much fun with the trumpet, and everything seemed pretty easy, and more importantly, I felt like I was really on a track of improvement. Now that I've removed myself from this teacher I've found I've fallen into the same old traps of frustrations and I'm not very sure how to get out of it.

The point of all this is that I'm starting to feel that simply putting in the time and trying hard isn't enough, there is something in my daily practice that is keeping me from attaining excellence...

My question, then, is this: do you have any tips on how to make the most out of practicing and any advice for me as to how I can set some goals or something to give me feelings of accomplishment? Do I need to put in more time? Less time? Different time?

The best players in my studio are the ones who seem to have a good handle on where they want to go and a solid way of achieving it on a personal level, and I've always felt that I've needed a teacher to tell me exactly what and how to do things...is there any way that I can start to take control myself over my natural progression as a player?

Sometimes I think I need to just have more fun with this whole thing...

Best,

Greg

2. Derek Reaban

Derek Reaban Mezzo Piano User