Marching Band.

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by ricecakes230, Aug 6, 2013.

1. ricecakes230

ricecakes230 Pianissimo User

Jan 15, 2013
    Texas
    I am very sorry if this is the wrong category. I could not find any marching band forum website with many users. If you know any please inform me thank you.

Most of ya'll might have done marching band. I am a freshman starting to march for the first time. I got the basics of marching down. My main problem is having to get to my "dot" or place in the number of counts given for the set. For instance, I need to be on this side 2 of the 50 yard line, 4 steps inside the 45 yard line, blah blah blah do it all in 8 counts. Today at practice I was giving it my all to get to that dot. But somehow as the 8 counts went by, I was a few feet off, which is horrible. I asked the upperclassmen, they said they know what I am going through and you just have to bust your butt to get to the dot.

I wanted to get some opinions or advice from trumpetmaster people. Any tips or tricks on getting to a far dot?

2. kingtrumpet

kingtrumpet Utimate User

Sep 20, 2009
    New York State USA
    just like anything else --- PRACTICE and REPETITION --- if you knew a secret, or if the upper classmen knew a secret ----- YOU would NOT have had to ask us!!! --- sorry my friend --- there are not shortcuts to perfection!!!!!

3. jad0295

jad0295 New Friend

Feb 2, 2010
    Fayetteville, NC
    Just out of curiosity, what is your starting and ending coordinates for that particular set? Tempo?

When it comes to drill, you'll have all kinds of stuff thrown at you. You could be taking 8-5 steps one set and jazz running to your next set. There's really no magic secret other then to just do it. Gauge how big your steps have to be and strive for that every time. A lot of freshman have trouble with larger moves and you'll notice it gets better as you get more experience.

4. gmonady

gmonady Utimate User

Jan 28, 2011
    Dayton, Ohio